Tuesday, April 19, 2016

Continuum of Engagement: Conversations that Engaged Twitter

We recently wrote a blog post about engagement, Continuum of Engagement: from Compliant to Flow, where we explained that “engagement refers to the degree of attention, curiosity, interest, optimism, and passion that learners show when they are learning or being taught.”

Continuum of Engagement TM by Barbara Bray and Kathleen McClaskey is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. Based on work at bit.ly/continuumengagement. Graphic design by Sylvia Duckworth

The blog post was centered around our Continuum of Engagement graphic we created to demonstrate the characteristics of learners as they move from being passive about learning to being in the flow. The continuum has sparked discussions on social media that we felt would be an insightful conversation in tonight’s #plearnchat. Here are some of the tweets and thoughts shared on this question:  “Learner Engagement: Is it authentic or is it compliant?”

Mark Levine ‎@LevineWrites

Sometimes administration looks at engagement as compliance, even when learning doesn't exist. Engagement is authentic learning!

Staci Mckee ‎@my4ccoa

I honestly think it's a bit of both. I feel learners are engaged when they are the ones who extend the activity and discussions.

Katrina Cade ‎@katrina_cade

Agreed. Just because students are sitting still and staring at the teacher doesn't mean they are engaged.

Mark Levine ‎@LevineWrites

Engagement is when learners are so entangled in the lesson that they can't think of anything else. They say, it is over already?

Nancy White ‎@NancyW

And they (learners) are asking questions that go beyond clarifying what they need to do for the assignment.

When learners have a choice and they are passionate about what they are learning they can get lost in a task or subject. This is called "flow" and you can see and hear the engagement. The sound of engagement sounds much like the energy you hear in a coffee shop. It’s palpable and can be detected from a classroom doorway. Listen and observe your learners; embrace their engagement and flow.

Congratulations to Lynn Spady for winning our book, Make Learning Personal.

Lynn Spady, @lynnspady, an enrichment specialist at Westside Community Schools in Omaha, Nebraska; is in her 19th year of teaching and feels truly blessed to be in such an awesome and rewarding profession!

Lynn shared, "While I have truly enjoyed each year of my career, I'd have to say the past 4 years as an enrichment specialist have been the most rewarding. I help students find and explore their passions and interests on a daily basis!" 

Save the Date

Our next #plearnchat is Monday, May 2nd at 4pm PST, 5pm MST, 6pm CST and 7pm EST. 

We archived the entire #plearnchat about engagement below for your convenience and as a resource.