Monday, June 20, 2016

Resources and Things to do for Summer Learning

Tonight's #plearnchat is an example of a PLN at it's finest and that's when sharing ideas, resources and conference tips in order for educators to grow as learners and push their thinking. Educators need time to replenish their teaching arsenals, be introduced to fresh ideas and learn from one another during the summer when they have time to ponder learning. It's the perfect time for educators to grow as learners so they can best encourage their learners in the fall.

You might be asking yourself why conduct a chat devoted to sharing resources?

Mark Levine @LevineWrites

The field of education is a garden and every educator has a pack of magic seeds to share.

Carol Frey Reinagel ‏@MrsReinagel

Notice and Note: Nonfiction; Choose to Learn, Learn to Choose. Innovators Mindset for sure. Grit

Shelly PhD ‏@raspberryberet3

Tips at conferences: I always have a copy of my day; where I'm going, title of sessions; do research on presenter. Have Qs ready.

Tonight's PLN did not disappoint. If you're looking for a good read, look no further and check out what our PLN is reading, plus tips for conference go-ers, inspiring educators to follow, and their favorite blogs and articles.

Congratulations to Spiri Howard for winning our book, Make Learning Personal.

Spiri Howard, @itsmespiri, is a Gifted and Talented Teacher and ELA Curriculum Coordinator at Commonwealth Charter Academy, a K-12 cyber and blended learning environment. She is passionate and committed to learner development by establishing productive learning environments and utilizing project based learning techniques. Spiri strongly feels infusing technology into curriculum design and instruction is vital to the development of learners into 21st century thinkers. She is also a PBS Local Digital Innovator 2016.

        Check out Spiri's blog: fromthecyberside

Save the Date

Our next #plearnchat (Make PBL Personal)
Monday, July 11th at 4pm PST, 5pm MST, 6pm CST and 7pm EST

We archived the entire #plearnchat about Summer Learning below for your convenience and as a resource.